ODOP Scheme 2026: Margin Money Up to ₹20 Lakh, and the "Unsecured Loan" Claim That Needs a Second Look
ODOP margin money is 25% up to ₹6.25 lakh, not a ₹25 lakh loan. Eligibility, application steps, CM-YUVA, collateral and common mistakes, with Agra examples.

Search "ODOP loan" and you will find "₹25 lakh loan, 25% subsidy, no collateral" repeated across dozens of sites. Parts of it are true. The rest is a misreading that can cost a manufacturer six months. This guide separates the two, using the government's own ODOP pages wherever I could reach them.
The short version
- National ODOP (DPIIT) does not give loans or subsidies. It promotes district products through GeM, exhibitions and e-commerce, and relies on other schemes for money (SuperKalam, labelled as a PIB item and not independently checked).
- Uttar Pradesh's ODOP Margin Money Scheme gives a subsidy, not a loan: 25% of project cost up to ₹6.25 lakh for projects up to ₹25 lakh, falling to a ceiling of ₹20 lakh on large projects. The bank finances the rest (odopup.in).
- The "₹25 lakh loan" is a misreading. ₹25 lakh is the project-cost slab for the 25% tier. The official page states no loan ceiling.
- "Unsecured" is not stated for the margin money scheme. The official pages say nothing about collateral for it. Collateral-free is stated for CM-YUVA, a separate scheme: interest-free loans up to ₹5 lakh (odopup.in).
- Agra's listed ODOP products are marble and stone handicrafts, leather products and footwear, and petha (odopup.in).
- Contact: toll-free 1800-1800-888, or your District Industries Centre (DIC).
ODOP: the three layers people mix up
| Layer | What it is | Money? | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| National ODOP (DPIIT) | Product mapping across districts; promotion | No direct loan or subsidy | SuperKalam (PIB label) |
| UP ODOP Margin Money Scheme | State financial assistance for a unit making its district's ODOP product | Margin money subsidy, bank loan for the rest | odopup.in |
| CM-YUVA | Youth entrepreneurship loan scheme, linked to ODOP training | Interest-free loan up to ₹5 lakh, collateral-free | odopup.in, UP MSME 1-Connect |
If a website says "ODOP gives a ₹25 lakh unsecured loan", it has probably mashed these three together.
Scheme 1: UP ODOP Margin Money (the main one for manufacturers)
The subsidy slabs (odopup.in, Government Order dated 24-09-2018):
| Project cost | Margin money |
|---|---|
| Up to ₹25 lakh | 25% of project cost, maximum ₹6.25 lakh |
| ₹25 lakh to ₹50 lakh | ₹6.25 lakh or 20% of cost, whichever is higher |
| ₹50 lakh to ₹150 lakh | ₹10 lakh or 10% of cost, whichever is higher |
| Above ₹150 lakh | 10% of cost, maximum ₹20 lakh |
Worked examples (my arithmetic from those slabs)
| Project cost | Margin money |
|---|---|
| ₹20 lakh | ₹5 lakh |
| ₹25 lakh | ₹6.25 lakh |
| ₹40 lakh | ₹8 lakh |
| ₹100 lakh | ₹10 lakh |
| ₹200 lakh | ₹20 lakh |
A useful quirk: any project between ₹25 lakh and about ₹31 lakh gets the same ₹6.25 lakh, so stretching a ₹26 lakh plan to ₹30 lakh adds cost without adding subsidy. One page words the top slab ambiguously ("whichever is less" with a cap), so confirm it in the Government Order.
Margin money is a subsidy, not a loan. You arrange the rest from your own contribution and a bank loan (odopup.in). Per the official FAQ, the margin money is merged with the subsidy "after the enterprise has successfully completed 2 years of operation." Ask your bank exactly how it is held in your account in the meantime.
Eligibility (odopup.in FAQ and scheme page)
- Age 18 or above, resident of Uttar Pradesh. No minimum education.
- The unit must produce the ODOP product listed for its own district.
- Only one member per family can benefit.
- You must not have already availed benefits from similar schemes.
- You must not be a defaulter of a bank or financial institution.
- New and expanding units can apply.
How to apply (odopup.in; UP MSME 1-Connect)
- Apply on the Directorate of Industries portal, diupmsme.upsdc.gov.in.
- The DIC reviews and verifies the application.
- Selected applications go to the bank, which sanctions and disburses the loan.
Typical papers (TaxGuru, a secondary source): ODOP product proof or artisan certificate, Udyam registration, a DPR with CMA data, Aadhaar, PAN, GST details and bank details. The official site links three PDFs (Eligibility, Government Order, Highlights) that I could not read, so use those as the final checklist.
If the bank refuses after DIC approval: approval from the DIC is not a loan sanction. Ask the bank manager for the reason in writing. If the answer is unsatisfactory, you can go to the Banking Ombudsman (odopup.in FAQ).
Scheme 2: CM-YUVA, the one that is actually collateral-free
| Item | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Loan | Up to ₹5 lakh, interest-free, collateral-free | odopup.in |
| Margin money | 10% of project cost | odopup.in |
| Project cost | Up to ₹10 lakh, but benefits apply only to the first ₹5 lakh | odopup.in |
| Your contribution | General 15%, OBC 12.5%, SC/ST/Divyang and aspirational districts 10% | odopup.in |
| Guarantee | CGTMSE coverage for four years | odopup.in |
| Age | 21 to 40 | odopup.in |
| Training | Preference for those trained under the ODOP Training Scheme, Vishwakarma Shram Samman or recognised skill programmes | odopup.in |
| Apply | UP MSME portal, via DIC; banks sanction | odopup.in |
UP MSME 1-Connect lists a second phase for loans of ₹10 lakh to ₹20 lakh with a 50% interest subsidy for three years, and says phase 1 gives a 100% interest subsidy for four years. That page adds a minimum of Class 8, which the odopup.in page does not list, and says applicants must not be receiving benefits from other central or state loan-subsidy schemes. Helpline: 155343.
Conflict to know about: TaxGuru's UP guide describes a "Mukhyamantri Yuva Udyami Yojana" with 25% margin money up to ₹25 lakh and age 18 to 40. That does not match the two official pages above, so I have not used it.
Where "unsecured" really comes from
A collateral-free loan for a manufacturer typically comes from the credit guarantee route, CGTMSE, where the bank lends without collateral and the guarantee fund covers part of the risk. A secondary source (IIFL) reports cover up to ₹10 crore, at up to 85% for micro and women-led enterprises and 75% for others. The guarantee fee figure on that page looked wrong, so I am not quoting it. Verify limits and the fee with CGTMSE or SIDBI. Whether your bank actually sanctions without collateral depends on the bank and the project, since the lender decides.
What it looks like in Agra
Agra's ODOP products are marble and stone engraving, leather products and footwear, and petha. The district page also lists a functional Common Facility Centre (J.D. Welfare Society), sample project reports for leather shoes and leather bags, and a food testing lab at Bamrauli Katara (odopup.in).
A shoe unit in Agra fits the ODOP product test. A trader of branded shoes does not, because the scheme is for units that produce the product (odopup.in). A petha manufacturer can look at both this scheme and the food-side PMFME. See our food subsidy guide for PMFME's status, which I could not confirm after 30 September.
Duration and conditions at a glance
| Item | Period | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Margin money held until | 2 years of successful operation | odopup.in FAQ |
| CM-YUVA CGTMSE cover | 4 years | odopup.in |
| CM-YUVA phase 1 interest subsidy | 4 years | UP MSME 1-Connect |
| CM-YUVA phase 2 interest subsidy | 3 years | UP MSME 1-Connect |
| Loan tenure | Not stated on the pages I read | n/a |
| Margin money scheme validity | Not stated (GO dated 24-09-2018) | odopup.in |
Mistakes that cost people the subsidy
Based on the official rules above. I am not describing any one client.
- Quoting "₹25 lakh loan" to the bank. It is a project-cost slab, and the bank sets the loan.
- Applying for the wrong product. Only the district's listed ODOP product qualifies.
- Two family members applying. Only one member per family can benefit.
- Having taken a similar scheme before. That makes you ineligible.
- A defaulter flag. Clear it before you apply.
- Treating DIC approval as a sanction. The bank still decides.
- Closing or pausing within two years. The margin money is tied to two years of operation.
- Padding the project to cross a slab. Between ₹25 lakh and about ₹31 lakh the subsidy does not change.
- Believing an old blog. Numbers on third-party sites conflict. Cross-check on odopup.in.
- Assuming collateral-free. Ask the bank in writing whether a guarantee cover applies.
A simple path
| Step | What to do |
|---|---|
| 1 | Check that your product matches your district's ODOP list on odopup.in |
| 2 | Get Udyam, GST (if applicable) and the right FSSAI or trade licences |
| 3 | Build a DPR with a CMA, with quotes for machinery |
| 4 | Apply on diupmsme.upsdc.gov.in and follow up with the DIC |
| 5 | Meet the bank early and ask about collateral and CGTMSE |
| 6 | Buy and install only after sanction (confirm in the GO) |
| 7 | Keep the unit running past two years |
WhatsApp version
ODOP = subsidy, loan nahi.
Apna district ka product dekho.
Ghar mein ek hi member.
Bank se collateral ka pehle poocho.
Do saal unit chalao.
FAQs
1. Does ODOP give an unsecured loan?
Not as stated on the official margin money page. CM-YUVA is collateral-free up to ₹5 lakh, and CGTMSE can support collateral-free bank loans.
2. How much subsidy can I get?
25% up to ₹6.25 lakh for projects up to ₹25 lakh. Slabs rise to a ceiling of ₹20 lakh on projects above ₹150 lakh.
3. Is the ₹25 lakh a loan limit?
No. It is a project-cost slab. The official page gives no loan limit.
4. Can I apply if my product is not the district's ODOP product?
No.
5. Can two brothers in one family both apply?
Only one member per family can benefit.
6. Is there an education requirement?
None for the margin money scheme. CM-YUVA pages differ, so check.
7. What is the age limit?
18 and above for margin money, 21 to 40 for CM-YUVA.
8. Where do I apply?
diupmsme.upsdc.gov.in, through your DIC.
9. What if the bank rejects me?
Ask the manager for the reason in writing. You can approach the Banking Ombudsman.
10. Does the national ODOP give money?
No direct loan or subsidy, per the PIB-labelled summary.
11. Can I combine this with PMEGP or PMFME?
The ODOP pages bar those who have already taken similar schemes, and PMEGP bars units that have taken another subsidy. Get written confirmation before you stack.
12. How long does the process take?
The pages do not state timelines. Ask your DIC.
Honest take
- ODOP is a subsidy scheme with a bank in the middle, and it is not free money.
- The most valuable thing the scheme does is lower the amount you borrow and reduce the interest you pay, if you qualify.
- Most rejections come from product mismatch, family and prior-scheme rules, or a weak DPR. They don't come from the scheme itself.
- I could not read the official Government Order, so check it before you commit.
If you are an Agra manufacturer
Lawgical Station is based in Agra, and the paperwork behind these schemes is where files stall: Udyam and GST in order, a DPR the bank accepts, books that match the project, and a clear view of collateral and guarantee options before you sign. The team can go through your case on a short call, and we tell you our fee before we begin.
General information, not legal, tax or financial advice. Scheme terms change, so confirm with odopup.in, your DIC and your bank. Facts as reported on 23 October 2026.
The Lawgical Station team brings together CAs, CSs and tax specialists with decades of combined experience advising founders, SMEs and professionals on tax, compliance and business structuring across India.



